Our History

Our story so far…

EATCM was founded in 2000, as a platform for Professional Associations and Registers of Traditional Chinese Medicine. It also involved Herbal medicine, Tui Na, and Acupuncture. During its formation, it included both education institutes and professional bodies but it ended up dissolving. Later, EATCM was established, and it was agreed that the body be only for professional bodies. At the moment, it is the largest body for professional TCM association all over Europe.

Upon its establishment, it had four founding member organizations. They are BAcC (United Kingdom), NVA (Netherlands), AGTCM (Germany), and EUFOM (Belgium). The Four were represented by Jasmine Uddin, Albert de Vos, Nils von Below, and Johan Roose. Jasmine Uddin was the organization’s inaugural president. She served as the organization’s president for about 12 years. At the moment, there are nine members of the executive committee. Over the years, EATCM has grown tremendously, and currently, represents more than 20 associations in 16 different European countries. The organization receives new membership application every year.

The Aims and Objectives of the Organization are explained in the Articles of Association and Memorandum. The original data was reviewed and changed in 2001 and also in 2007. The organization has grown rapidly over the years, but most notably, over the past 15 years. EATCM has received two external reviews.